Community Engagement Subcommittee

The Community Engagement Subcommittee is to developped recommendations for the second legislative report regarding how to create mechanisms for strong feedback loops with data users, support evidence-based decision making and analytical capacity, and ensure equitable access to actionable information.

The Community Engagement Subcommittee concluded its meetings in May 2021. The information on this page is for reference only.

Advancement Project, Karla Pleitez-Howell, Managing Director of Policy and Programs

Asian Americans Advancing Justice, Victoria (Nikki) Dominguez, Policy Director

California Collaborative for Educational Excellence (CCEE), Steven Sterling Mitchell, Senior Manager Community Engagement

California College Guidance Initiative (CCGI), Maya Ramos Clayton, Vice President of District Partnerships

California EDGE Coalition, Anna Alvarado, Policy Director

California School Information Services, Amy Fong, Chief Operations Officer

California State Board of Education, Zaid Fattah, State Board of Education Representative (Monte Vista High School)

California State Parent Teacher Association (PTA), Lea Darrah, Vice President for Education

Californians Together, Xilonin Cruz-Gonzalez, Deputy Director

Children Now, Stephen Blake, Senior Advisor

Concordia University Irvine, Lizz Mishreki, Director of Public Relations and FirstGen Student Initiative

Del Norte County Office of Education, Jeff Harris, Superintendent

Elk Grove Unified School District, Jackie Nevarez, College and Career Pathways Counselor

Fresno Unified School District, Heather Allen, Executive Director, College & Career Readiness

Growing Inland Achievement, Sorrel Stielstra, Director of Research

High Tech High Graduate School of Education, Ben Daley, President

Imperial County Office of Education, Denise Cabanilla, Director of Higher Learning and Adult Education

Jobs for the Future, Mara Lockowandt, Senior Program Manager

Legacy Education, Ena Hull, Chief Operations Officer

Moreno Valley Unified School District, Esperanza Arce, Director of Secondary Education

NAACP Pomona Valley Branch, Jeanette EllisRoyston, President

North Orange County Chamber of Commerce, Theresa Harvey, President/CEO

Parent Institute for Quality Education (PIQE), Patricia E. Chavez, Director of Policy, and Lucero Chavez, Policy Associate

Sacramento State, Chao Vang, Executive Coordinator of Equity Programs

San Bernardino City Unified School District, Rose Gonzalez, Coordinator, Workforce Development

San Diego State University, Lauren Owen, Executive Director, Center for Equity and Postsecondary Attainment

Student Senate for California Community Colleges, Gerardo Chavez, Region Affairs Director

University of California Office of the President, Jenna Allen, Executive Director and Deputy to the Vice President, Institutional Research and Planning

Vista Murrieta High School, Eric Peterson, Counselor and Adjust Professor, Concordia University Irvine

Washington Unified School District Board of Trustees, Jackie Wong, Trustee

Click to return to the home page.